The digital decade begins now! Europe is undergoing a digital transformation that relies on providing access to gigabit connectivity and 5G services to all European citizens by 2030. There are outstanding broadband deployment projects across the continent implementing successful infraestructures, and to reward them, the European Commission is relaunching the European Broadband Awards 2022.

All advanced projects in broadband deployment,- large or small; rural or urban; private or public; local, regional, national or cross-border, and covering all technologies were welcome to compete for the awards, submitting their application before January 31, 2022.  

Candidate projects for the European Broadband Awards were assessed by a jury composed of five European broadband experts with comprehensive experience. Shorlisted projects fit in the following categories:

  1. Innovative models of financing, business and investment:
  2. Cost reduction measures and co-investment:
  3. Socio-economic impact in rural and remote areas:
  4. Demand generation and take-up of connectivity:
  5. Quality and affordability of services:

For the category Socio-economic impact in rural and remote areas, the projects that have been selected are:

  • Erro Smart Valley, Spain. The project provide high-capacity connectivity to all the inhabitants of the Erro Valley, eliminating the digital gap between the city and rural areas.
  • Broadband expanse in North Hesse, Breitband Nordhessen, Germany. The five administrative districts of Kassel founded their own infrastructure company to make sure that all community areas within the five districts have sustainable broadband internet connections.
  • Broadband Director Plan of Navarre 2016 – 2021, Spain. The objective of the project was to digitalise the public services in Navarra while bringing broadband services to the remote locations in order to foster the adoption of new technologies in rural areas.

The complete list of finalists can be found here. The winners of the European Broadband Awards 2022 will be announced and awarded by the European Commission at the Award Ceremony, which will take place on 27 September 2022 in Brussels.